Agriculture News, Markets, Weather, Ag Talk, Farm Machinery | Agriculture.com
Senior Contributor
rswfarms

Re: Highyields-How the older traders differ than the younger traders?

Highyields- can I ask how the older traders differ than the younger traders? Are the younger traders more of the risk-takers? Just curious as to why you mentioned that is all. Thanks.

Advisor
giolucas

Re: Floor Talk January 10

Highyields,

As a younger trader I use to swing for the fences and lost alot.  As an older trader with kids, bills and the need to put food on the table I look for base hits.I use to trade more as a younger trader, now I trade less but with more volume.  Then again my wife wants me to swing for homeruns every now and then.

Senior Contributor
highyields

The  younger traders tend to over react.  This isn't so much the case in the grains, all the time,  but its like they over analysis everything and then its "all in"  Look at this report tomorrow, it will be interesting to see if we can get a limit move or not with it coming out during trading hours,

I know some of that is due to electronic trader and computer driven algorithms.  Then the funds can push markets one way or there other, usually moving them more then they should be.  

They are not good at recognizing market trends, they are market followers,  lets chase the tail of the corn market and hope we are not the last one buying,    when you get everyone thinking that way you get these huge spikes in the market.  In my opinion