Agriculture News, Markets, Weather, Ag Talk, Farm Machinery | Agriculture.com
Senior Contributor
ray h.

Lopsided Markets

Every commodity produced today exception oil and its related products is in a lopsided position compared to lawyer,doctor,CPA,engineering,ins.co's some managerial positions in a lot of companys.manufacturing,(ah,$300,000 combines ex, to$50,000 pickup trucks,) you name it.The thought of wheat with a 4 in front,orcorn with a 4 in front,soy with a 8 in front,and on the latter two I will confess that I am guessing, is a ludicrous emotional thought! I am a producer of specialtie commodities and it is unbelievable of the difference buyers will pay when thing are going their way as apposed to the opposite. Is it possible that in this capitalistic environment that the government receiving tax,(income) on $15.00 wheat,$12.00 corn,$20.00 beans they would have more resources to feed the poor.After all we all know that the amount of raw product in a box of crackers is almost insignificant at any price mentioned. The point I am trying to make is that we need a correction in markets,or the lopsidedness mentioned will some day cause a snap in the general econ! In a perfect world there would be some degree of safty net in food supply,and the stockpile would be ONFARM!

Advisor
hardnox604008

Re: Lopsided Markets

Hi Ray,

Over the last 40 years our "food policy" or whatever it is has gone through the following general stages:

High support prices and a farmer owned reserve. Didn't work, just created a land bubble and priced us out of the market. Huge surpluses built up.

Ultra low support prices even to the extent of paying buyers to take it came next, coupled with direct support prices. It didn't work- was hugely expensive and didn't increase demand as advertised, particularly export demand.