Agriculture News, Markets, Weather, Ag Talk, Farm Machinery | Agriculture.com
Senior Contributor
ShelladyOptions

OptionEye April 19th (video response)

Wow. This is good.

Yes. You are correct. I have never planted 90 day corn.

I am a trader. Not a farmer. My family owns a farm but 24 years in the financial futures business says I like trading.

And, quiet honestly, in an attempt to find a reason for such a large move in the corn spread market I asked the around the CME Group floors for ANY explanation. I am sure most would agree that the gyrations have been unprecedented and at a minimum intriguing.

What was mostly heard was the sound of crickets. One large well respected commercial desk offered up the 90 day corn 'excuse'. Thought it would be interesting to the crowd to hear what the chatter was in the building. In all my years in the business I would never have imagined the response that information elicited. That story was doing the rounds here yesterday.

At the very least, for those that expressed an overwhelming feeling that the story is wrong, I gave you all the perfect chance to make a quick 12 cents overnight. I am sure you took advantage of that.

I apologize for any offense taken and will stay away from playing the role of 'messenger' in the future.

Senior Contributor
4wd

Re: OptionEye April 19th (video response)

Nahhh, don't sweat it SS. Go ahead and tell us the gossip. We can discount it or believe it. What may have been behind the 90 day comment is by planting a month early, full season corn would hit the market at the same time as 90 day corn planted at the normal May 1-5 date. The problem is I don't think any of that early corn has emerged yet, so it isn't taking in any degree days of sunlight yet.

BTW, why the strong up in the overnights? Any smoke there?

Advisor
jrsiajdranch