Highlighted
Senior Advisor
Accepted Solution

What are you? definitions

An optimist assumes that the USDA was correct and that new crop prices will be lousy.

A pessimist assume that the USDA is wrong and that the crop size itself will be lousy with better prices

Or does an optimist assume prices will be high because of the lousy crop.

Or does a pessimist assume we have a lousy crop and low prices?

Sometimes it is just so confusing. It must be the age thingy.

Veteran Contributor

Re: What are you? definitions

I think it depends if you are a producer or a trader. If you are a producer, you want the prices to move up. If you are a trader, you just want prices to move. I am a producer. Unfortunately, I am one of the producers that has some lousy soybean yields this year. The corn isn't too bad, but still short of what it takes to turn a good profit. Every time somebody gets on here and spouts off about their huge yield, or how gigantic this crop and carryout will be, it makes me rather irratable. I don't think that makes me an optimist or a pessimist. It makes me a grouchy old curmudgeon.

Veteran Advisor

[ Edited ]

i'm a lover, i'm i fighter, i'm a Yamaha rider - anyone else have that bumper sticker back in the day? Smiley Very Happy

i'm a realist, truth seeker, trader, mkt scientist, methodical researcher - with a natural science background......no eye rollingSmiley Surprised

seriously, though, the only thing I can come up with for the expected larger bean yields is farmer survey error to USDA? i.e. they ask y'all something about expected yield - do pod counts, etc. on Aug/Sep reports.

the main thing being heard is "better than expected" yields w/ beans...USDA expects some pessimism and they account for it ( y'all tend towards pessimism on yield so as to not be too disappointed if it is bad - normal human psychology) - I understand this.

so if enough of the survey-ees underestimated to a larger degree - than USDA's norm = bigger crop.