About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Make Goals Not Resolutions

by Heather_Barnes on ‎01-16-2015 02:22 PM

Goals.png

For years when the calendar turned to January 1 I made resolutions. I resolved to loose weight, save money, cut expenses, take a class, change a bad habit. The list was endless.

I would say 99% of the time by Valentine’s Day I had failed at all my resolutions.

Why did I fail? I can think of several reasons:

1. I didn't write them down.
  2. They were not specific.
  3. There was no target end date.
  4. I had no accountability.

Take my vague resolution to save more money. How much money did I want to save? How was I going to save it - cutting expenses, selling unused items, getting a second job? Was I going to save it over a period of days, weeks or months? What was I saving it for?

With no clear direction it’s no wonder I failed at keeping my resolution.

After my son was born I decided I wanted to loose the weight I gained while pregnant. I joined Weight Watchers (for a second time, but that’s another story). I set a goal weight and wrote it on my chart. Every week I attended a meeting and weighed in. My progress was in black and white on my chart. I tracked what I ate and how much I exercised.

I knew how much weight I wanted to loose. I had a plan for how I was going to loose it. There was accountability every week. I had support from our leader and other members at the meetings.

Guess what?

I reached my goal!

What I learned from this was if I have a concrete goal and a plan of how to achieve it, I will meet my goal. What took me until recently to realize was my personal life wasn’t the only place I needed to set goals.