About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

New Addition

by Heather_Barnes ‎05-05-2014 07:51 AM - edited ‎05-05-2014 07:53 AM

The Women in Agriculture blog family has a new addition – me!  I’m excited to represent the south and share my story.

IMG_8265.JPG

I’ve bucked the trend of young people (yes, I still consider myself young) and moved to the country instead of away from it.  I was born in Portsmouth, Virginia (the city), then moved to my parents hometown of Emporia (the town) in middle school and now live on my husband’s family farm in North Carolina (the country). 

So how did a city girl become a Carhartt-wearing, tractor-driving momma?  It’s in the blood, at least that’s what I’ve always said.  My dad grew up farming.  My mom’s grandpa was a farmer.  I remember the only time I went to Pampaw’s farm when I was nine or ten years old and saw the piglets;   I think that’s when I decided I wanted to be a farm animal veterinarian.   By the time I got old enough to appreciate farming nobody in my family farmed anymore.     

After moving to Emporia, I joined the local 4-H.  I went to lots of camps but the best thing I did was attend Congress at Virginia Tech.  Since it’s the top agriculture school in the state and there is a veterinary college right on campus I decided it was the place for me.  Luckily they agreed and I was accepted.