About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Our Garden's Blessings

by Heather_Barnes on ‎07-25-2014 07:24 AM

Every year we plant a garden.  Every year, if we get enough rain, our garden blesses us with squash, onions, potatoes, sweet corn, butterbeans and other crops that will feed our family for the next year.

This year's garden has been no exception.  This past week the butterbeans were ready. 

Brooks picking.jpg

This is My Farmer picking butterbeans.  Picking goes by faster when you are listening to music.  Country?  Hip Hop?  I'm not sure what his butterbean picking playlist was. 

picking.jpg

The plants were loaded with butterbean pods.  We picked 5 1/2 buckets and there was still one row of plants, waiting patiently to be picked. 

Turns out picking is the easy part.  Then comes the shelling.  I have memories of shelling butterbeans with my grandmother when I was young so I always get nostalgic this time of year.  Then I start shelling and the nostalgia gives way to sore thumbs and broken fingernails.  Seriously, this is one reason this farm wife doesn't get manicures.  Now pedicures....those are a different story.

2inside pod.jpg

You never know what you will find inside the pod...1 butterbean...3 butterbeans.  Or very tiny butterbeans from a pod that wasn't ready to be picked.  I guess I got carried away while picking.  That can happen while jamming to Heart.