About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Shark Tank the FFA Way

by Heather_Barnes on ‎03-06-2015 06:49 AM

ffa shark tank.png

Have you seen Shark Tank? No, not the shark exhibit at your closest aquarium but the television show.

I’ve only seen bits and pieces of the show. If you aren’t familiar with it, the idea is that people go before The Sharks - a group of “self-made, multi-millionaire and billionaire tycoons”, according to the show’s website. These people pitch their business and products and offer The Sharks a chance to invest in their company.

This week I had the chance to feel like one of The Sharks - without the millions and billions of dollars in the bank.

I had the privilege of judging the North Carolina FFA Agricultural Sales contest. Teams compete a written test, a practicum and end with one member giving a sales presentation.

For the sales presentation, students chose an agricultural product that represented one of the following categories:

1. Agriculture Mechanics
2. Agriculture Production
3. Agricultural Products and Processing
4. Agricultural Supplies and Services
5. Forestry
6. Natural Resources and Rural Recreation
7. Ornamentals

They prepare a sales pitch for their chosen product, including business cards, brochures and flyers. As a judge, I was the customer these students were trying to sell their chosen product to.

The junior contestants, freshman and sophomores, had five minutes (the senior contestants had seven minutes) to assess our needs as the customer and demonstrate how their product could meet those needs. Some of the items I had the chance to “purchase” included:

- Udderly Supportive - Udder support for dairy cows