About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Time To Make the Bed

by Heather_Barnes on ‎03-21-2015 06:33 PM

title.jpg

March in North Carolina means it's time for sweet potatoes to be bedded. 

Wait, sweet potates need a bed? 

The short answer is, yes.  As I've learned since we started growing sweet potates, planting sweet potaotes involves more than putting a seed in the ground.

Actually, we don't plant seeds, but "slips" or "cuttings".  Where do they come from?

Many farmers use slips, or vegetative cuttings, that are cut from seed potatoes which have sprouted.  Seed potatoes are the smaller size sweet potatoes, those that fit in my hand or are smaller.

sp in my hand.jpg

Some seed potatoes are bedded in greenhouses and others are planted in the field. 

This week I had the chance to visit Jones Farms, a local farm that specializes in seed potatoes and cuttings.  They bed seed potatoes in one greenhouse and in the field, and also transplant vegetative cuttings from elite mother plants purchased from NC State University to make cuttings.

During my visit they were bedding a 100 foot greenhouse with seed potatoes.  The seed potatoes were grown from first generation cuttings planted in the field last year.

The seed potatoes were harvested last year, cured and kept in storage.  On the day of bedding, the seed potatoes are brought out of storage and loaded into the bucket on the skid steer. 

loading seed potatoes in skid.jpg

The seed potatoes are brought into the greenhouse and dumped onto a layer of potting soil.  

dumping seed potatoes.jpg