About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

We're building a house!

by Heather_Barnes on ‎08-01-2014 12:35 PM

We have been growing sweet potatoes for the past four years, increasing the number of acres we grow each year.  Like many crops, they can be stored after harvest.  And, like many crops, the storage facility needs to be specifc to the crop you are storing. 

This year, after paying someone else a fee to store our sweet potatoes until they went to market, we decided to build our own house.  This gives us greater flexibility in marketing our sweet potatoes.  When they are in someone else's house, they decide when our sweet potatoes are marketed.  They could decide to market them when the price is high or when it is low.  They could decide to market them all at once or a little at a time over the course of a year.  We don't get paid until they go to market.  Some years we have already planted the current year's crop before we received a check for the previous year's sweet potatoes.

This house isn't just for storage - we also cure the sweet potaotes in it.  Sweet potatoes can be sold "green" or straight from the field, or they can be sold "cured".  Most are sold cured. 

Before I get sidetracked I better get back to the house building.  Every house needs a good foundation.  The company that poured our concrete was exceptional.  Good enough that it was worth getting up at 5:30 a.m. to watch them pour concrete.

1st pour.jpg