About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Who Needs A Budget?

by Heather_Barnes on ‎01-07-2015 10:10 AM

budget.png

It’s the new year and if you are like me you set resolutions every January. This year my goals - not resolutions, but goals - include several related to finances.

As anyone in agriculture knows, there is one thing farmers don’t get regularly - a paycheck. For most of us payday comes at the end of the season, after we have already paid for all the inputs.

For some crops it takes even longer. I remember one year we finished planting the new crop of sweet potatoes and still hadn’t been paid for all of last season’s. You don’t get paid for sweet potatoes until they are packed and as we learned, it can take a year for your crop to move across the packing line.

For this reason I think it is vital for farmers to be good money managers, both at home and on the farm. We have to be if we are going to be sustainable. As important as this is, it’s one of the things we never talk about.

I learned a lot of money lessons the hard way and decided that I needed to start educating myself about money. I wanted to stop living paycheck to paycheck and wondering why there was more month than money.

I’ve read a number of books, follow several bloggers and if I’ve learned one thing, it’s that money management is about behavior. If I want to manage money better, I have to change me. Sounds easy but if you have ever tried to lose weight, quit a bad habit (like drinking soda) or change anything that has it’s roots in your behavior you know it’s easier said than done.