About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.

Women in the Room

by Heather_Barnes on ‎01-30-2015 11:03 AM

1.png

What are the challenges of being a woman in agriculture?

That’s the question I plan to pose to a group of women at a workshop I am facilitating this weekend. I can only begin to imagine the responses we will receive and wonder how many will mirror my own.

As I’ve been thinking about things I want to say in case the audience stays silent for a few minutes I started thinking about my own personal challenges of being a woman in agriculture.

What do I think is the biggest challenge?

Being a woman.

Let’s face it, agriculture is a man’s world.

Think about any commercial you have seen related to farming. The farmer is a man.

We hold an art contest each year for students in Kindergarden through fifth grade. Every year I receive entries that include drawings of farmers. Almost all the farmers are men.

I walked into the local farm equipment store one day looking for something specific. When I couldn’t find it I approached the service desk. I waited. And waited. Finally I got tired of waiting for the man working the desk to ask if I needed something so I spoke up. He answered my question and quickly dismissed me. Clearly he was to busy to talk to me. Let my husband walk in and that same man has all the time in the world.

This idea that agriculture is still a man's world has really struck me as I prepare for this week’s workshop. Where do I see the lines most clearly drawn? Meetings.