Agriculture News, Markets, Weather, Ag Talk, Farm Machinery | Agriculture.com
About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Decluttering and saying no

by on ‎02-26-2014 02:05 PM

house.jpgAs I mentioned in my last blog post, I am embarking on a happiness project this year, and the first step in finding this greater enlightenment is decluttering. 

I had planned to spend one month getting my house decluttered and completely organized. As it turns out, I seriously understimated the amount of clutter in my house, as well as the amount of time and energy I would have to dedicate to this project. Still, I am forging ahead. 

My first task was tackling the "dressing room" upstairs. I live in an old farmhouse that was built in 1890, before anyone had a need for frivolous perks like closets. When you have bedrooms with no closets, clutter happens. There are three bedrooms: mine and my husband's, one shared by our three sons, and a long, narrow room that was once the nursery, but is now the dressing room. Racks on one wall hold all of our hanging clothes, and there are shelves and dressers along the rest of the walls to hold everything else. I also have a huge stack of bins in there, since my basement isn't exactly dry all the time, and I can't bear the thought of losing my holiday decorations and family keepsakes. (Yes, I kept three bins of baby clothes. Don't judge me!)