About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Discussing Death on the Farm

by ‎02-08-2015 03:32 PM - edited ‎02-08-2015 03:34 PM

sneaky.jpgThere has been a lively discussion on the Women in Agriculture Facebook page recently, about a subject that most of us just don't want to talk about: animal death on the farm.

"Do you really want to know why we don't talk about the death on a farm?" writes member Angie Schultz. "It is because that means we failed. We failed that calf that we couldn't get to breathe even after trying everything we could to get it to take one breath. We failed that cow that died in the night, when we didn't see or know that she had a stroke or a heart attack. We failed that animal that slipped on the ice and pulled a muscle and only got worse over time because we didn't think to spread lime and salt over there, because they didn't belong there in the first place…. We failed when a dog gets run over." Not only did we let these animals down, Schultz says, but ourselves as well. 

My own worst moment as a woman in ag came several winters ago, in the middle of a blizzard. My father-in-law had passed away earlier in the year, and we moved several of his cattle to our place, including a bottle calf he had raised and named Dove. We didn't know it then, but my father-in-law hadn't gotten the bull out quite in time before he passed. He was very ill at the end of his life, but didn't want anyone to know it, so some things didn't get done quite like they would have when he was well.