Agriculture News, Markets, Weather, Ag Talk, Farm Machinery | Agriculture.com
About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Resolving to be happier

by on ‎01-20-2014 10:46 AM

Sullivan.jpgNew Year's resolutions often include specific changes, like eating healthier, exercising more, or finally getting a handle on the clutter in the mudroom. Finding inspiration in The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, I have made a resolution that is simultaneously simple and very complex: be happier.

Like the author of this must-read book, I first felt almost selfish making this resolution. After all, what have I got to be unhappy about? I am married to my best friend, we have three healthy children, I have a job that I love and that lets me be at home with my boys, and I actually like my parents. I'm healthy, I have a home that is safe and cozy, and I will never have to worry about not being able to feed my children. If many people in this world looked at my life, they'd trade places with me in a minute.

The thing is, I am happy. I'm not embarking on this project because I'm unhappy. I'm not depressed, sad, or even a little glum. But there's always room for improvement, right? If your vehicle is running smoothly, you still get the oil changed every 3,000 miles. Your car needs maintenance to keep running, and your life needs maintenance to keep happy.