About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Trying to enjoy the chaos

by on ‎06-26-2014 03:02 PM

Last month, Cheryl Tevis wrote a column advising moms of young kids to enjoy the chaos while it lasts. With one daughter graduating from college, and the other about to get married, Cheryl found herself sentimental for the old days when her life revolved around their activities.

DSC07310pitchforks.jpg

Jake is 12, Luke is 10, and Will is 8, so I know about chaos. I am lucky enough to be able to work part-time from home, so I get to be with them all summer. All day. All day when we're picking mulberries for our pancakes and spending leisurely afternoons swimming. All day when we're going to baseball games, and taking day trips to explore our beautiful state (like our visit to the "American Gothic" house, above). And, yes, all day when they're fighting like cats and dogs and I can't get anything done because I'm forced to be a referee.

It just so happens that today is one of those referee days. Last weekend, my youngest and middle sons finished baseball season, so for the first time all summer, we actually have a fairly open calendar. I decided not to schedule anything for the rest of the summer, aside from Scout camp for Jake and Luke, and church camp for Will. Our plan is not to have a plan. To just see where the day takes us.