About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Why I love the county fair

by ‎07-25-2014 10:43 AM - edited ‎07-25-2014 10:46 AM

fairdadboys.jpg

It's fair time in Warren County, Iowa, and I had a great time there yesterday with my dad and my three sons.

The boys earned ribbons in the pie-eating contest (Will got first place in his heat and third overall for his age group, and Luke and Jake got second and third in their heat). They also raced in the big trike races and walked away with more ribbons.  We strolled through the livestock barns, where we saw bunches of the boys' friends and their animals. We admired the flowers in the horticulture barn, the arts and crafts, and all the exhibits. We had lunch at the beef producers' tent, followed by a funnel cake.

fairpie.jpg

I saw friends from high school, cousins, and neighbors. It was a great day.

We aren't as involved in fair activities as many in my home county. We are active in Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts, which means our club time is limited and we don't do 4-H right now. We're planning on entering some things in the open class divisions next year, but this year, we were purely spectators (and pie eaters).

My love for the county fair runs deep, though, and goes back to 1931. Times were tough in Warren County, and the fair board thought it would be a great morale-booster (and no doubt a fair attendance booster – marketing genius!) to hold a contest where a couple would win an extravagant wedding at the fair. The winning couple was kept a closely guarded secret until the moment they stepped into the grandstand for the ceremony. As it turns out, the couple was Vern Foust and Helen Utsler, my grandparents.