About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Avian Influenza in Minnesota - What Does This Mean?

by MNGobbleGal on ‎03-06-2015 06:04 PM

I haven't been able to write as regularly as I like to and I'm sorry about that. Like all of us, I've been a little busy. In the midst of getting ready for my organization's large poultry convention this month in Saint Paul, a bit of an issue popped up this week that had me completely switching gears.

Highly-pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) was confirmed in a flock of commercial turkeys in Minnesota.

You may have seen the headline as part of the "A-List" on Agriculture.com:

Ag.Com - bird flu headline.JPG

This is a big deal. It's the first time this particular "type" of avian influenza has been confirmed in the Mississippi Flyway. It is also the same type that was found earlier this year on the West Coast. (We don't know for sure how the virus got into the turkey flock, which has always been housed indoors in a barn, but an epidemiological study is underway already so that we can get an answer as quickly as possible.) 

It's a big deal because avian influenza is endemic in migratory birds and spring hasn't even officially started in Minnesota. This makes all poultry farmers nervous. (Waterfowl, gulls and shorebirds are the natural carriers of avian influenza viruses.)

It's a big deal because at least 40 countries have banned imports of Minnesota turkey, which has a huge impact - not only on our state but on U.S. exports of turkey, as well. Minnesota - ranked #1 for turkey production - raises about 20 percent of all turkey in the U.S.