About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Helpful Links to Avian Influenza Information

by MNGobbleGal ‎04-19-2015 04:35 PM - edited ‎04-19-2015 04:42 PM

turkey breeder hens - 2014 (4).jpg

I feel like I'm a bit of a broken record in my last few blog posts - most have been related to the highly pathogenic strain of avian influenza (HPAI) that has hit turkey flocks in Minnesota. Since early March, HPAI has caused the deaths or the required euthanization of over 1.6 million turkeys, and the strain has also been confirmed in South Dakota, Wisconsin and Iowa (along with earlier confirmations on the West Coast and in Arkansas, Missouri and Kansas).

Turkeys are not the only birds susceptible to HPAI - chickens are, too. And this is not only a problem for poultry raised commercially. We've also seen cases in Minnesota and Wisconsin in backyard chicken flocks.

This highly virulent strain of HPAI has never been seen before in the U.S., and in Minnesota alone we have teams of folks from USDA as well as state agencies such as the Department of Agriculture, Board of Animal Health, Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Health working together to stop the virus from spreading further.