cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Senior Contributor

Farmers vs government workers

First know that all the hype about government workers not getting paid is false.  They received their last check so it they're out of money it's because they spent it.

Second, as a farmer I got a checks a couple times a year and some years it certainly didn't cover the cost of living.  I had to make do between checks.  We had a thing called a budget.

Third "the average federal employee salary was $84,153, approximately 50% more than the average private sector worker earned. This discrepancy increases to 78% when benefits are included. The average federal worker costs the government (aka taxpayers) $119,934."

Hardly people that should be broke after missing A paycheck.

Fourth, they will still get paid for NOT WORKING once this is done.  So they could borrow against that promised wage.  Not like a private citizen out on strike.

6 Replies
Senior Contributor

Re: Farmers vs government workers

For sure the sob story want to make you upchuck.
Senior Contributor

Have been "thinking" about this weehav, and don't want to ruin the post...

but, starting with a wheat farmer, puts seed in ground and WAITS 9 months for harvest...

beef cow herd...have cow, then a bull or AI, wait 9 months for calf....then calf born live and decision, veal or feed or keep for re production,

which means MORE waiting for income...

and easily along the same line with other livestock, including dairy and getting the heifer into production...

granting pork production may have a faster return in some cases...

it's still a waiting game, and hopefully someone doesn't suggest getting a government loan, beginning farmer or storage facility loan because

that still takes some WAITING.

I have worked several jobs from government, filling station, oil production, driving trucks, working for farmers and dairies, since high school graduation,