cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shaggy98
Senior Advisor

Farming Full Time

I am asking you a question that I have been asking myself for 2 or 3 years now.  When does one know when to resign from his full time off the farm job to become a full time farmer.  My off farm job pays extremely well but has rotating hours and that coupled with farming can be stressful on the family.  I've been married 20 years next year and my wife is all for the move.  The farm is 750 dryland acres that are family owned, and the farm has been operating debt free for several years now.  I've got equipment to expand my operation at least two fold, and possibly even 3 fold if I were doing it full time.  I've got no livestock at this time, but at one time we ran a 250 head cow/calf operation as well as a 1000 head feeder operation.  All grassland is currently rented to a neighboring producer, so I could slowly work my way back into the livestock sector.  Anyone have any advice that could be beneficial?

10 Replies
ihmarty543282
Senior Contributor

Re: Farming Full Time

Seems to me all the ingredients are in place to go ahead with it. Sometimes in life you just have to say "it`s now or never"................

BA Deere
Honored Advisor

Sounds like you have a great opportunity with family land that won`t be taken away, your wife is all for the move.  Life is really short and you don`t want to be on the deathbed asking "what if?" If you were starting from scratch and the little woman wasn`t supportive, I`d have a different answer.  Good Luck.

Nebrfarmr
Veteran Advisor

If there is grass left on that grassland, and it doesn't start raining, and soon, there are going to be some very decent brood cows coming to sale, at some real bargain prices.