cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

Odd, how rich I am

A recent school bond issue that I was against got passed.  A teacher called me names and insinuated that I didn't care about education and that I was a rich farmer.

So I looked up his income and property tax bill.  He and his teacher wife make $100,000 a year and live in a new 2 story house on which they pay $1500 property tax.  They both drive new cars or at least I should say cars no more than 3 years old.

I on the other hand make $45,000 a year, pay $5000 in property tax and my newest vehicle is a 1996.  Somehow I don't feel as though I'm rich.  Then too I made certain that my children went to college and that they graduated at the top of their classes.  We actually have a thing called a library and have several computers on a network.  We took our children to see museums, art galleries and some of the wonders of our country.  The trips were made inexpensively and we camped in a tent.  We were able to see the truth about a lot of American history and it wasn't what was being taught in the politically correct school system.

I am tire of teachers whining about their low pay.  I've invested my life to buy part of America, I don't have a boat, a camper or a snowmobile.  Our vacations are few and short.  Quite different from the teachers who have a few years of college that cost them less than $40,000 and who now take cruises and come back tanned after Christmas break.

The average teacher salary in America is $50,000 but what they don't tell you is many teacher families are 2 teachers and they don't tell you what those retirement programs pay.  It's a lot more than the rent on a 160 acre farm and it doesn't pay property tax.

45 Replies
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

Re: most over paid profession