cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shelk7
Friend

Project

Hi everyone, I'm a student at Purdue university and I'm currently working on a project for one of my courses. I'm talking about agriculture, specifically genetically modified crops. I would like feedback from you people on my podcast script to see what all of you think. It is still currently be revised so there will be changes. The link is right below and feel free to look at the other sections. Thank you.

https://sites.google.com/site/sheltonswritingshop/podcast

2 Replies
r3020
Senior Advisor

Re: Project

You might get better feed back on this if you were to post it in the farm business section.

Faust100F
Advisor

Re: Project

How do you invision hydroponics working on a 1000 acre corn or soybean field?

As far as yield enhancement due to new genetics, that is a joke regular soybeans will produce high yields as long as weed control exists.  The major reason for yield in soybeans is because of the weed control RR introduced into soybeans and corn by Monsanto.  Yields in soybeans are a weed and fertility control problem, all the varieties being sold to farmers as hot shot patented hybrids provide zero additional yield than an ordinary soybean plant.  80% of the soybean growers went to RR seed because of weeds not because of additional patents portending to increase yields. 

Common, unpatented, varieties will usually yield better then the new RR strains, because the chemicals utilized Glyophosate do knock down yields.  In the 50's, 60's, 70's when soybeans were still cultivated and walked yields were similar to what they were today, as long as beans remained free of weeds.