cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Honored Advisor

This is how hopeless balancing the US budget is.

You could shut down government like park rangers, congressmen, broom pushers ...everyone and the whole Defense Dept and we`d still be faced with deficits.  This guy explains it, he`s an accountant by trade http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EW5IdwltaAc   we would have to raise taxes "50%" I will say that one more time "raise taxes 50%".  I like his line of `we are only arguing of who will pay the most for their ticket on the Titanic`Smiley Happy   It`s the entitlements stupid!   We can be bullheaded and say "that`s my social security you basterds!!!" ...if you want an answer, means testing for SS and for God sakes DON`T create more entitlements with Obamacare! 

35 Replies
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

Re: This is how hopeless balancing the US budget is.

You have to hand it to Ryan and Romney to show enough political courage to hope they can get the point across before the whole things blows up.

I do sense that more of the traditional liberals that actually have some intelligence are seeing the iceberg in the water , too, and I am cautiously optimistic that November is going to be a good month for Conservatives.

Many people, even those older and on social security, still love America and will vote for the interests of the nation rather than for their own interest. And Ryan is framing the issue to be one that affects people under 55, not current beneficiaries and those that are about to start collecting. Of course, this may all change depending on what the numbers actually allow.

I do believe that it is very unfair for current beneficiaries, even wealthy ones, to get back seven times what they paid in while future beneficiaries won't even get back their original contributions.

Honored Advisor