cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor

chickens

I am very new to raising chickens and have 6 different breeds and two guinea's.

Question 1:  I have a black and white crested rooster who I keep separated from my Rhode Island reds, black australops, leghorns, silkie and golden sebright, do I need to worry about my rooster being able to cross breed with any of my hens other then the black and white polish hen that I do want him to breed with eventually?

Question 2: I cracked open three fresh eggs to cook and found that each of the three eggs had a small round spot in them, what would cause this and were the eggs bad? I didn't eat them. Are my layers sick?

Question 3: I believe that one of my hens, which is laying eggs, may have worms. The deworming medication I bought said that I should not treat them if laying eggs for consumption so how do I treat them?

7 Replies
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Re: chickens

@tndrhrt wrote:

I am very new to raising chickens and have 6 different breeds and two guinea's.

Question 1:  I have a black and white crested rooster who I keep separated from my Rhode Island reds, black australops, leghorns, silkie and golden sebright, do I need to worry about my rooster being able to cross breed with any of my hens other then the black and white polish hen that I do want him to breed with eventually?

Are you going to incubate the eggs or let the hen raise them? Even a thunder storm can ruined the eggs. Let the rooster run, won't hurt anything.

Question 2: I cracked open three fresh eggs to cook and found that each of the three eggs had a small round spot in them, what would cause this and were the eggs bad? I didn't eat them. Are my layers sick?

No idea. May they are fertile?

Question 3: I believe that one of my hens, which is laying eggs, may have worms. The deworming medication I bought said that I should not treat them if laying eggs for consumption so how do I treat them?