cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor

Re: "Our Military"

I am not going to get in a lengthy discussion here as most here know the others positions. But I am a Viet Nam veteran and politics and early political correctness was already very much in evidence. We went into guard towers with no ammo. We at times could not return fire unless given an OK by the officer of the day. The North Vietnamese broke every treaty they signed or agreed to. The atrocities committed by the Viet Cong on the population were horrible. We had no objective, go out on patrol, take an area then vacate and in a week go back and take the same area again. The people were caught in the middle. War is terrible and you cannot be a little at war. Draft dodgers became heroes. The only way you can be in a war is to dehumanize the enemy, They become gooks or whatever. War is not a game. Forget most of those movies you saw filmed in California. War is filthy, bloody, screaming, diarrhea and terrifying. When you go to war have an objective and get the politicians the hell out of it. Sorry about the rant but sometimes I just get so upset with those who think war is a game with rules and everyone plays nice. Believe me the people who suffer the most in a war handled by politicians and no objective are the people caught in a never ending time of horror. I said enough, farmguy. 

Senior Contributor

About as straight of answer and your going to get. Some of you need to read this several times....

Veteran Advisor

Farmguy. Thank you for your service.  We have a local group that does a turkey hunt for vets.  We have a number that come from

your time period.  one of the helpers with the event was in about the same time as you, an recanted similar things.  He saw some

things to this day upsets him.

I also have a friend that was in the officers division durning one of the "actions" in the desert middle east a few years ago.  He also