cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Blacksandfarmer
Veteran Advisor

Advice for preemerge herbicides in soybeans

I am going to switch some management around for soybeans next year. This year I spent to much time broadcasting P & K, disking and then attempting to plant soybeans in a nearly non existent planting window. So this fall Im planning to broadcast some fertilizer for next years beans and do light tillage. I would like to get into using preemerge herbicides on my soybean ground but Im not sure if a fall or spring application would work best for me? Ideally if I could just get a preemerge to last until late June or 1st week of July before roundup is needed my fields should stay clean for the rest of the season. I have never used a pre in soybeans before, I usually disk in the spring to knock out early weeds and spray roundup around the 1st of July. Thanks for any advice.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Blacksandfarmer
Veteran Advisor

Re: Advice for preemerge herbicides in soybeans

I am just curious when most of you or any of you are using preemerge sprays for soybeans?

0 Kudos
Nebrfarmr
Veteran Advisor

I haven't done pre on beans in a while but the best thing I have used for my soils would be Pursuit Plus lightly risked in, or better yet incorporated with a field cultivator. This would be early pre plant.
sonolan is a cheap way to go pre and while not sa long lasting or broad spectrum works good if you can do a follow up with glyph if needed.
0 Kudos
idleriver
Contributor

You can spray "Envive" preplant up until three days after planting.  It did pretty good for me.  About 70 % of acres did not require a roundup application that year.  I used it on the light side of the rate rec.  My only complaint was volunteer corn.