cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ATWCentralIL
Veteran Reader

Crop Production Help

I am a college student working on a farm plan. I am suppose to create a 2 year managment plan for a field that is 95% sand, 3% silt, and 2% clay. The field is irrigated. Money is not an issue so any kind of seed or anything works.  one of the crops must be a specialty crop and seed corn or seed beans does not count.  The location is Monroe CO which is close to St Louis.  I must discuss seeding rates, depths, and dates along with tillage practices. I am not sure what do with 95% irrigated sand. Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Jim Meade / Iowa City
Senior Advisor

Re: Crop Production Help

I don't have any specific help.  in your shoes, I'd ask the local extension agent.  I'd also ask the head agronomist at U/Ill.  I'd probably ask a good agronomist in a couple of the major seed companies.  I'd see if USDA ARS has any info on this situation.  In addition, I'd see if I could find the name of a successful grower in that area and ask him.

Sorry I can't be of better help. 

0 Kudos
Pupdaddy
Advisor

Screw with your professor, and plant 2 specialty crops. Popcorn and Pumpkins. Popcorn has about the same input costs as field corn...plant maybe 5% thicker, and never over an inch and a quarter deep. Figure an application of Headline at V6-V7 growth stage..and then an application of Stratego immediately after tasseling (You did say money was no object didn't you?) Fertilizer, standard corn application rates-maybe cut nitrogen 5%. Herbicide (Figure on mulch tilling the field for popcorn) should be an application of Outlook, and a post of Buctril. Try not to use atrazine, the pumpkins won't like it.