cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Friend

Neonicotinoid's and how they affect the bee's

I am a student at Old's College, in Old's Alberta taking an Agribusiness course. For one of our classes we are doing a report on neonicotinoid's. My group and I would greatly apprecite it anyone can take 5 minutes out of their day and fill out the following questions:

1. What do you know about neonicotinoid?

2. Do you seed with neonicotinoid?

3. If yes, would you be upset if they were banned? Why?

4. Do you know how neonicotinoid work? 

5. Are you aware of how neonicotinoid are affecting the bees? What are your thoughts?

6. Is there an easy way to solve this problem by keeping the bee keepers and farmers happy?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor

Re: Neonicotinoid's and how they affect the bee's

"Neonicotinoids are a class of neuro-active insecticides chemically similar to nicotine. In the 1980s Shell and in the 1990s Bayer started work on their development.[1] Neonicotinoids cause less toxicity in birds and mammals than insects, compared to the previously used organophosphate and carbamate insecticides". Read more at; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neonicotinoid

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

The "neonicotinoid's" I've seen are often alkyl halides.  That is classically 'organic' chemicals which have been halogenated.  Halogenation polarizes organic chemicals so that they interact similarly to regular organic chemicals but the interaction is stronger due to the electron pull of the halide.  The strongest to weak of halides:  Flourine, Chlorine, Bromine, Iodine.  Bromides and Iodides are likely to be degenerated or undergo substitution by chlorine, which is a relatively common anion in the natural world.

Alkyl halides are almost never found in the natural world.  Iodine occationally plays a metabolic role.