cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BuzBrandes

Questions with no-till and application of fertilizer?

I'm a small time farmer and would like to start planting my corn and beans no-till.  Being a new guy, its unclear to me how to properly apply fertilizer in a no-till application.   How do most guys do it?  I thought P and K are relatively immobile in the soil profile, so if I just broadcast it... its unlikely the plants can utllize it all. 

Nitrogen is an even bigger concern.  I know my N will volatilize if not incorporated or rained on soon after application.  Does a urease inhibitor like Agrotain prevent this?  Just broadcasting ok then?

My planter is a JD 7000 without fert boxes , has no-till coulters.  I'm not set up for liquid Nitrogen.  I know many acres are planted no-till.  I just can't reasonably figure out how this is accomplished without a minimum of tillage?

I know these may be basic questions, but I have just not been able to get a straight answer from anyone I know on how to accomlish my goals.

Thank you,

Buz Brandes

0 Kudos
6 Replies
smokeyjay
Senior Contributor

Re: Questions with no-till and application of fertilizer?

For a low budget situation, you have several choices to make.  Surface broadcast application may be the cheapest, but it is not the best nor will it provide the crop with all the nutrients you apply.  This goes for N, P & K,.  Row application, with the planter, post emerge or via strip til are the three viable options you have.

If you can afford to invest in some used application equipment that some salvage stores have available, purchase some liquid fertilizer tanks and a good squeeze pump.  It's not the best way to go but the cheapest for you.  Dry fertilizer boxes and gears/sprockets would be an alternative, however, they may not be available as readily as liquid tanks.