cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
justbegining

Wheat Questions

Greetings All,

This is my first year of planting winter wheat.  I seeded it last year around the 9th of Oct.  Since then I have put down 100 lbs of 11-52-0.  I was thinking of putting down 150 lbs of urea here in the next month or so, but wondering about the timing & if I need to lower the amount or raise it.  Also, I have read about some producers spraying a fungicide.  My question is what is a good product, & how much, as well as when is a good time.   A little bit of history on the ground is that it sits around a housing development & has not seen any type of grain crop in at least the last 3 years that I know of. Also, there is alot of variability in soil types,  sand to a timber soil.  TIA  JB

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Pupdaddy
Advisor

Re: Wheat Questions

I don't know where you are located..but here in NwOH we tend to get a little more fall nitrogen on..to get some tillering..and also quite a bit more spring nitrogen. Urea is fine..as long as it stays cool, which should be no problem in the next month. I would go with a minimum of 90 units of N...or 200 lbs. of Urea up to 130 units of N...depending on your yield potential. If the stand is good, you have good weed control and you have decent fertility on this ground...you won't be sorry.