cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor

Buisness

Im currently a student and I aspire to own a roadside farm stand selling fresh produce and possibly find contracts with grocery stores, gas stations etc..

I think that 40 acres is a good size farm to start with and it would take about $70k in decent used/new equipment tostart. $150k in land (40 ac to to build a home etc). And with leased land (20 ac) the lease could be about $5k a year.

Over all on loans (Including a home) on 2 large payments I estimate $33k per payment with lots of extra added in.

What i really need help figuring is the overall sales I would have. I used USDA spread sheet prices from 2008 and Tonnage per acre found on the internet (i.e. corn might be 4-6 ton/ac; I figured for 3 tons to be conservative) planting 3-5 acres of various crops I got to over 3 million in net sales which I do not see even remotely possible on 40 acres of land unless im planting gold.
Can someone help me out and give me a rough estimate of net sales.

I would plan on plating almost anything you could thing of;

Corn

Okra

Peas

Beans

Turnips

Strawberries

Potatos

Cantleope

Watermelon

Tomatoes

Cumcumber

Zuchinni

Carrots

etc.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Veteran Advisor

Re: Buisness

My advice, is to start out small, and use the vegetables to supplement your other income.

I hate to sound pessimistic, but if you are starting from nothing, you will have great difficulty getting ahead in the farming game. 

Maybe a couple acres to start with, that could be handled with a large tiller, just to see how it can work out?

Besides all the start up costs, you also will have to establish a market for what you grow, and seasonal vegetables are hard for locals to get into grocery stores, they want a steady supply year-round, not an abundance of just what is in season.