cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor

Re: Debt free farming operations

Here is the interesting situation about this topic.

A farm comes up for sale. 120 Acres @ $5,000 / Acre. = $600,000. Lets say one farmer borrows all of the money @ 7 % for 30 years. With simple payment schedules .....The total dollars spent on that farm is $1,450,000!with interest (the cost of owning that land) accounting for $850,000.

If a farmer could pay that in cash....look at how much he saves. But a farmer cannot make money without having assests to earn money....so there is this dynamic dillema.

Cash is King but sometimes people have to borrow money.

0 Kudos

Farming is primarily weather dependent in most places. I am from Australia and run cattle. I am also a CPA. Debt continues to accumulated interest on interest in bad times when loan repayments cannot be met. The bank may allow an extension of time to pay, but that only lets the debt grow bigger. Bad times come with bad weather or bad prices. The trap in farming is if income is received pretty much only once a year. Farmers often borrow all the money to run the farm for a year until the check for sale of cattle or grain or whatever comes in. Then when it comes in they repay the bank, haviing lost much of the gross income by way of bank interest and charges. If weather or prices cause the amount received to be less that what is needed to repay the loan, then the farmer is stuck in the debt trap, as money then has to be borrowed to run for the next year on top of what could not be repaid last year. Once the moneylenders have you caught in that debt trap they can raise  the interest rates and charges at will and from then on have a virtual licence to transfer your earnings and assets to themselves. If that takes a decade or so while you work hard and wonder why you are not getting ahead, it does not worry them because they will be getting something along the way and most of the rest when they sel