cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gelinnew
Visitor

HEMP FARMING ACT OF 2018

Jump to solution

Alright so I'v been looking into investing in industrial hemp. I live in north carolina and have been hearing good things about pilot programs done by the state. Last year went very well and this year there is even more acreage that has been allowed by the state for certified hemp farmers .

I know nothing about farming. Im 28,  a former correctional officer II and im currently in my first year of college ( yeah, I started late). My interest in farming began a few months ago after my dad told me about crop science.

Anyway, i'd like to hear some opinion from people who know about farming, own a farm, work on a farm, etc.  What do you think of industrial hemp as an agricultural commodity? Do you think the hemp farming act has a chance to pass on June 22nd?  Would YOU invest in hemp?  

http://www.timesnews.net/Community/2018/05/05/div-class-libPageBodyLinebreak-Bill-would-allow-farmer...

I'd also like to add that some people seem to attach the stigma of marijuana to hemp without realizing that they are NOT one and the same. They are two different plants.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Veteran Advisor

Re: HEMP FARMING ACT OF 2018

Jump to solution

I am personally leery of niche markets.  I've seen too many cases where the company buying can tighten or relax standards depending on how bad they want the product.  This is even with a contract.

I'm not saying don't do it, I'm saying I'd be skeptical and would want to check it out in all regards.

What happens if the market gets flooded and you can't get rid of your hemp?  You can usually sell corn even if it's at a loss, but can you sell hemp if there is no buyer?

0 Kudos
Honored Advisor

Jump to solution

Study the US hemp industry and consider the effect of adding a million tons of production to that market.

Is the need there?  Will it grow?