cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Re: Lower incomes ahead -- what are you doing to prepare?

Then don't use rye. I can't answer your questions on cover crops, I'm not an expert. I only tried them this year for the first time on my farm. When I no-till drilled my winter wheat crop a couple weeks ago the ground was completely different than any of the rest of my no-till ground it was unbelievable. I haven't walked the wheat fields yet, but looking at them from the window of my pickup it appears that the ground that had the CC is the best looking stance. We had 2" rain this evening so maybe the rest will catchup.

In my opinion, nothing "Pays" every year, you'll need to figure out your own CC strategy, mine might be a complete failure on your operation.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Honored Advisor

It should not be all that difficult to get so e nutrient values, then overlay current fertilizer prices for comparative nutrients if purchased, pretty much the way we can place a $ figure on value of manure.

The increased organic matter, potential imrovement ofvtilth and other less tangible assets like earthworms that survive on thevorganic component, would be harder to quantify. My father explained green manure's many benefits, as he had seen his father relying upon them...not the least of which was heat to boost crop germination, as the turned-in vegetation decomposed.

0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

Shaggy, if I were in a position of little to no debt to worry about, I would likely be doing the same thing.   However, in my case, it makes sense to do the 'necessary' repairs, and see what is left.

I have been using the higher income of the last couple years to rebuild a few fences, etc, and prepay some things, to average out income (it makes no sense to pay little to no tax in one year, then in a higher bracket the next, when you can average yourself out, in the lower bracket for both years, IMO).