cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cowfarmer
Senior Contributor

Profitability

I am forever an eternal optimist so someone please pull the reins back. We are in such good times in row crop farming, I am also a cow/calf producer and have feeders as well. Cow/calf doing great feeders not so much LOL.  What wil stop this trend, I don't see anything in the near future doing this. I realize some guys pay higher rents and no one markets perfectly, but seriously unless you spend yourself out of business, shouldn't everyone be doing well right now. What do you guys foresee in the next 48 to 60 months.  Enjoy your feedback and debate.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Jim Meade / Iowa City
Senior Contributor

Re: Profitability

You can't believe how rabid some ethanol haters are.  I foresee continued attacks on ethanol.

Input costs are likely to increase a good deal.

EPA seems intent on imposing quite draconian restrictions on farms and farmers.

Disruption of energy supplies could create chaos in a few weeks.

China is getting stronger and more belligerent.  War in Asia could rock the world.

A nuclear weapon in the hands of a rogue state or NGO could create great uncertainty.

War in the Middle EAst is not impossible.  Saudi Arabian succession is one issue, radical Islam is another.

Farming is likely going to change radically in the next 10 years as many older farmers die, rent or sell the land.

0 Kudos
nwobcw
Advisor

I think Jim hit it pretty good.

0 Kudos
Canuck_2
Veteran Advisor

Everything in farming is of course impacted by weather, here and elsewhere in the world.

That said I think we have to have confidence in farmers to do what they always have done when they are offered profitable numbers. All farmers will put just a little extra input into their crop because the prices allow it. Many will find just a little bit more land that they can plant and we 'the farmers' will bring prices down with a good if not bumper crop within 48 months.