cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Advisor

Re: Second wave of down economy

WhooHOO for you two!  You can pick up the thread tomorrow, youngun'!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor

The system Mike and I graduated from in 1972 had roughly 5200 kids in about ten schools when we got out...crammed in and filled to the gills.  That included a huge central high school buitlt in about 1965, I think, at a cost of about $1 million.  It was too small, and soon extended with two wings for English (the only air-conditioned portion, since everyone had at least one class a day there, with English required every year of the curriculum.)

About 25 years later, with our eldest in the same high school, the county had 1700 or so fewer kids, and was closing elementaries right and left, saying they were too expensive to renovate. 

Mothballing was not a good idea...they really were not able to re-open them, since they did not meet newer building codes for schools.  So, basically, wasted and another decade or so later, $33 million in bonds was floated to prettify the few schools ( about 2/3 of the ones we'd seen active in our school years) they sitll ran. 

Ten years after that, a bond was let at $80 miullion to renovate the older half of those, and then build a single new elementary and high school.  That was without  any of the infrastructure - water/sewer, power, roads, etc., to the two new sites, so they ran very short of funds, and woukd have aborted the elementary, but for the bond wording, which required both to be built, 

Fast forward...county is broke, and still have way under 4000 kids on roll call there.  Beating on the federal gov't to build schools for a BRAC expansion of the Quartermaster Corps HQ of the US army in neighboring town/county...but no new kids have shown up, in fact, school pop is dropping.  in other words, build schools for kids that are not here....