cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
farawayguy
Veteran Contributor

Should I Custom Farm?

I have found myself managing rent on family farmland and am considering trying my hand at custom farming, by which I mean hiring out the work (opposite of a previous post I read). I live way out west, but the land is in Illinois. I have about 550 acres (combined) in two parcels 5 miles from each other - all A rated farmland for corn and soybeans. I grew up on a farm, but that was 30 years ago - much has changed! Am I crazy to try this?  I have an MBA in Financial Planning and I'm thinking I'm leaving too much on the table cash renting, and I don't really want to just jack up the cash rent to the current tenant, farmer, so I thought maybe a total change of operations is needed. I'd love to hear opinions.

0 Kudos
62 Replies
gbryce
Frequent Contributor

Re: Should I Custom Farm?

I think you need to talk to RSW Farms. He is quite experienced on this. Smiley Wink

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
farmerguy89
Advisor

Bad advice
0 Kudos
iowastateisgreat
Contributor

I have several farms that are operated by custom farmers and can honestly tell you that it is a lot more work than you think.

Frankly, the time to have land custom farmed has past. The fat margins for the operators are in the rear view mirror. I would bet a cash rent auction price would be very close to the returns you would get custom farming over the next three years with a lot less risk.

If you were close by it might be worth getting a bigger piece of the action. But with you living out of the area, I  wouldn't consider it.

If anything, you might want to consider a flex lease where you share in the good times and get less when yields/prices are lower. That would keep you involved without all of the added stress of figuring out crop insurance, FSA programs, grain marketing, etc.

0 Kudos
tree fmr
Advisor