cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ried#3
Contributor

Tax Question

This is my first year farming.   On your return does your schedule F have to go along with your 1040 or can you do it as seperate returns?  

0 Kudos
13 Replies
jc217
Frequent Contributor

Re: Tax Question

It is attached to your form 1040

0 Kudos
Jim Meade / Iowa City
Senior Contributor

If you're asking this basic a question, I would be a lot of money that it would more than pay you to take your taxes to a good, ag CPA. Ask fellow farmers who they use, check with the bank, etc. Doesn't have to cost a tone of money but don't be surprised at $300-$500 for a small beginning farm. You'll surely save that much money in what they can find for deductions, I'd be willing to bet. A CPA fee is among the best money I spend every year.
0 Kudos
wt510151
Senior Contributor

When does it not pay to hire a CPA to do taxes? Do you give him a list of the figures segregated by income/expense category? Or do you give him all of the amounts of money transactions?

0 Kudos
kraft-t
Senior Advisor

Re: When do you hire a cpa?

When you are uncertain about what you are doing. Now you may have a very simple tax return and not require a highpowered professional to do your return. From your questions I accertained that you might be a little ignorant about the process and what is required. Thus I urge you to speak to a professional and let him get you started right.

If you have a simpletax return you may think it costly but you will be educated about the process and learn how to do it right.

wt510151
Senior Contributor