cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jim Meade / Iowa City
Senior Advisor

Thoughts On Corn-Bean Rotation

The chart in this Universtiy of Illiinois study caught my eye.

It says that corn after corn is $39 less than corn after beans, but soybeans after 2d year corn are $53 more than after one year of corn.

Does that mean that a corn-corn-bean rotation might be as good or better than a corn-soybean rotation?  Of course there are a lot of agronomic and cash flow issues involved in that, but I had never seen this particular relationship before and wonder if it is something I ought to think about.

I put it here because it is a whole-farm business topic, certainly nothing about Marketing and really not so much about Crop Production. I hope it's home is OK.

http://farmdocdaily.illinois.edu/2015/09/revised-2015-corn-and-soybean-return-estimates.html

Sorry, I'm not good at inserting the graphics.  It's a one-two page document and easy to read and see, if you'd like to check it out quick.

Note, I'm not talking so much about whether the basics are right as I am about what it says about the crop rotation.

What do you think?

0 Kudos
11 Replies
westernia80
Senior Contributor

Re: Thoughts On Corn-Bean Rotation

I started out my farming career with that type of rotation by in the early 2000's.  My problem was I wanted to No Till and corn on corn no till did not work well for me, unlike notilling into bean stubble.  When the corn price sky rocketed I started back to corn on corn and discing but never liked it much.  It did seem like the beans were better after multiple years of corn than on the 50-50 rotated ground, although I had no proof of this.  Just a feeling.

0 Kudos
buckfarmer
Senior Contributor