cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Advisor

Re: My two cents worth

2- 70,000 incomes in rural kansas?? Holy crap! the govt. must love you to death!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor

good call , don. My dad milked 'til i was a freshman, i just quit hogs 2 years ago.   I still farrow 2-4 litters per year for "locker pigs". just a hobby,tho. I've advanced past the whippersnapper stage.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Honored Advisor

Re: We're all getting old...but too old?

A local antiques mall posted a photo of a tobacco basket yesterday on Facebook. A friend asked a question about it, which I answered, and she posted questions back. I gave a brief explanation of putting in and curing flue-cured tobacco, in mule days.

Neither of my sisters, who are 5 and 9 years younger, would have been able to give any of that explanation. We are the same generation of our family, but not at all in terms of our overall experience of farming.

i could give similar explanations about shocking peanuts and thrashing them at one location in the barnyard, rather than by combine traveling and harvesting windrows in the field. I would be the only one who saw croaker sacks filled on the platform scales every farm had, and then the bags stitched shut by hand.

Mules were worked, but within that five-year interval, retired to live out their days on pasture. Hog killings were at home, not a locker plant. The meat was salted and smoked...the only lock on the whole place was on the smokehouse door.

Hogs wallowed in low land not fit ti till...which is highly-protected riparian setbacks today. Farrowing went indoors first, with other stages of growth protected pretty rapidly after that.

I could give a thousand changes between my childhood and theirs...and, we are the same generation. The differences between my childhood farm and the one we reared our three kids on are astounding, really.