cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Veteran Advisor

Gestation crates gotta go

McDonald's is now asking hog producers to get rid of farrowing crates. See full story. PETA is driving this issue. Have you or do you plan to convert your operation away from farrowing crates?

Mike

0 Kudos
26 Replies

Re: Farrowing crates gotta go

Gestation crates, not farrowing crates.

I recall in a previous life as a hog farmer I spent some time around the Pork Producer types who were for the most part bigger and more successful in the business than I.

They were all kinda stirred up about animal rights folks criticizing gestation crates. This was in the early 90s and interestingly, a big midwest hog farmer those days was 500 sows and most of these guys didn't even have gestation crates or maybe just used them for late gestation with the rest of the time in group pens of some form of the other.

I used to say, are you sure that is a bad thing? They were pretty much just anti-anti and said that if gestation crates are banned, then they'll be after farrowing crates and they're really just closet vegans anyway, etc.

Anyhow, I don't think any of the people of whom I speak are in the hog business today. They thought they could compete with big pork and they were wrong.

0 Kudos
Veteran Advisor

Nox you bring up very interesting points on the pork issues and I think the pork organizations might address the issues with their consumers instead of gnashing teeth with them---why does this industry make such a fuss over some one with a video camera if they are trying to get their own  message out---transparency ? ?   

0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

Mike, I know that money will be a big lever here in forcing pork producers to discontinue the use of farrowing crates. I wonder how McDon has the guts to force this on one end and then continue to produce unhealthy food on the other end. A salad doesn't necessarily mean a healthy menu....MikeM

0 Kudos
Veteran Advisor