cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wky frmr

CIH combine settings for corn

I have a Case IH 1640 with specialty rotor and I always have trouble running too much corn out the rotor early in the season before it dries down below 17%.  I usually set the transport vanes in slowest position and run the rotor at 360 to 380.  Should I slow it down more?  What works for the rest of you?  Thanks.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Pupdaddy
Advisor

Re: CIH combine settings for corn

..I'm an old conventional combine operator..and slowing down the cylinder is only done to prevent kernal damage. If it was me..and I had to operate a specialty rotor on higher moisture corn..I think I would be wanting to whack it harder (by speeding it up) with the limited number of bars I have..or fill some of the grates with a filler bar so that it threshes harder. Only a guess here...you've operated a rotor longer than I have. I'm going to be interested in the replies..because I'm a thinking I might be looking at a rotor in my near future...

0 Kudos
Nebrfarmr
Veteran Advisor

We run a 1440, an IH rotary, but with a smaller diameter rotor, so our RPMs won't jive because yours will have a faster rasp bar speed at a given RPM, but here are a few rules of thumb:

The faster you run the rotor, the more capacity you have.  Running the rotor as fast as you can without grinding, and the concaves as open as possible and still shell the kernels gives you the most capacity through the rotor.

RPMs have the biggest influence if you are grinding corn.

Concave setting has the biggest influence if you aren't shelling it all.

Basically, speed up the rotor until you just start grinding corn, then back down.

Loosen the concave until you start leaving kernels, then snug it up a hair.