cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pcorn1259562

JD 1760

Looking at buying a JD 1760 12 row planter. Any known problems with these planters? Thanks.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
greenpower
Contributor

Re: JD 1760

I'm a tech for a John Deere dealer in central Nebraska and our store has had 2 of these planter bars break in half.

0 Kudos
idalivered
Advisor

I had one that I purchased  when it was 3 years old and just trade it for another new one. the monitor on the one I traded said that it had planted 19000+ acres. I've said this before but here goes, i like the folding bar, I like the markers, I like that I can put my starter tanks on the planter and not the tractor. I like the transmission. The spacing is ok if you don't drive too fast. my new one will have the new 40 cell plates(i think that;'s what they are) so we'll see. I've heard and agree that the white metering system is excellent and probably superior to the jd. I'll guess with ya'. Lastly, I still think the row unit on the cih is superior to all the others. Had 3 cih planters and liked that part. good luck to you.

0 Kudos
pcorn1259562

Did they break in the same place and where on the bar did they break?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
greenpower
Contributor

they broke by the wing hindge

0 Kudos
4wd
Senior Contributor

Mine broke lose at the center hinge too. Bad factory welds- no penetration. It was well out of warranty, so I got to eat that bill. I still like that planter, though.

0 Kudos
lvSIowa
Contributor

ok, planter falls apart in the field, but you sure like it. makes perfect sense.

0 Kudos
4wd
Senior Contributor

If it breaks lose again at the hinge it will go down the road, for a brand new one just like it.

Best corn planter I have ever owned. I just hope Deere has re-assigned that hinge welder to some other job. I hate wire welds. A poor stick welding job would be visible, with these pretty, smooth wire welds you don't know what is underneath them.

0 Kudos
lvSIowa
Contributor