cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Senior Reader

Looking for opinions

My grandfather farms and well I'm trying to get my foot in the door I know it wont be easy. I work a full time job as a salesman for an equipment company. I recently got promoted to sales I was a mechanic for the company prior. But anyway I'm looking for opinions and advice the majority of the ground that I can afford to rent is 10-40 acre patches. I'm looking for an older tractor 100-150hp. Something dependable easy to work on and affordable any suggestions? Also I'm converting an old cattle barn into a shop well the back half anyway has anyone done this any tips? Thank you

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Highlighted
Advisor

Re: Looking for opinions

..your handle gives you away. How could anyone recommend anything but a Case/IH to you?..LOL

..If you're looking for cheap, you're going to spend money fixing it...or putting tires on it. The 7100 series Magnums...might be the way to go for you. I've got an older 7120..and I used it for everything, spraying, fertilizer, planting, working ground. If properly maintained..they'll run a lot of hours. You can't buy a 50 series IH tractor..that will match the hours that the Magnum will put on without major repairs. But they're going to run you in the 40,000 dollar range to get a tractor that might or might not have 2500-4000 hours of life left before majoring the engine. Tires are an issue too. They get real expensive real fast today.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

You say you used to be a mechanic, and still work at the dealership.  Would they let you work on your own stuff after hours or on weekends during the slow season when they have empty bays?  If you can do the labor yourself, you can get some pretty cheap HP.