cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

6 - 21 Weather Update

Good Morning.  Speaking of Dr. Oz and his show, some time ago he did a show on the benefits of unsweetened tart cherry juice in helping you sleep.  The stuff doesn't taste the best, but 8 ounces drank 2 hours or so before bedtime really does seem to work in helping you fall asleep faster and stay asleep.  I used to use it when I was an Instructor in Oklahoma City, and had several double shifts back to back.  It really seemed to help.  It can be a bit hard to find, or you can do what I'm planning to do in a few weeks, and that is to take a trip up to Door County in WI and pick our own.  But they need to be the tart cherries, not the sweet ones.

Let's take a peak at the weather.  Our current Jet Stream:

10 Day forecast of 300 mb winds and heights from the GFS model

Over the next 5 days, it greatly decreases in intensity over the US, and moves back into Canada.  But, by a week from now, it's forecast to do this:

10 Day forecast of 300 mb winds and heights from the GFS model

That wil aid in bring more unstable air back into the Northern US, and more chances of rain.  The Gulf still remains open the next 10 days.  This is the wind and temperature map for Monday:

10 Day forecast of 1000 mb (near-surface) temperature and wind from the GFS model

Our strongest convergence between two air masses continues to be from the Panhandles North into N and S Dakota.  The Texas coast can't get away from the strong SE wind off of the Gulf, which will continue to bring more Sargasso Sea seaweed onto the beaches of the Gulf.  They say that they like the seaweed because it helps build the beaches back by trapping sand in the seaweed.  It looked like it worked from what I saw, but made for a not so pleasant trip to the beach.