cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

Re: 9 - 13 Frost Update

sure,

I'm a producer - hadn't you seen the photo's of my elevator/dryer posted on here a couple weeks ago? from I-10...

...and how'd you know i like to wear panties?  d'ya get holt a one "o" dem flyin' movie camera thangys from BF - and be survey-ling 'round in these parts...now i'm reelly skayrd!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

Never understood how farmers can drag themselves out of bed everyday while believing that every crop is probably the worst they've ever raised. The negativity of farmers on these boards never ceases to amaze me.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Honored Advisor

What is goofy is farmers who think a crop is graranteed when they plant it.  No let's say guaranteed when they order the seed. 

How on earth can a farmer get up every morning and think that he is raising one of his best crops ever  ---- optimism----- and ignore the fact that we have the best demand ever for our product.--- we need record crops.----- pessimism

Half of this crop will be raised by folks who have greater risk levels,  and cannot afford to get out of bed depending on a great crop.  

If farming is so good why are there less than half the number of farms there were when I began 50 years ago??  And the next few years may trim it again.

Negativity is being sure your crop is so big it won't be profitable in the future.  Selling it before raising it because you believe in its size.  Therefore driving the price down before it exists. 

Optimism is knowing you can be profitable without a crop if you need to and don't have to market it at harvest or before.

Inflation of cost of production has not stopped ------ be optimistic about that.

Will you reduce acres accordingly?  Or depend on the higher risk fringe half to do it for you.

Highlighted
Senior Advisor