cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
idalivered
Advisor

Re: Analysts

I have it (from a very good source) that a national farm management company(won't use their name 'cause he's a good friend)had their managers sell a portion of their clients crop last friday. Whoa, talk a bout bad timing.  . For my part, I sold some old crop yesterday, after the widened the basis a nickel, for 6.73. A month ago i would have thought that a heckuva gift. I'm not an expert, but a buck higher on nc and jan. is a good starting point for me, maybe??Please send your grain marketing fees to to the Woden Poor Farmers Association. My home address....

0 Kudos
hardnox604008
Advisor

Who was the guy who used to post here with the tag "strategy trumps opinion?"

Once again I'm struck by the fact that selling with puts or courage calls is awfully sound despite the fact that they seem awful expensive. On the other hand you're near assuring a profit compared to back in the day when you might have only spent .20 for option coverage but it felt like you were just compounding a loss.

If anyone thinks they're a great analyst because we're on the verge of a blowout drought, good luck with that thinking in future years. If they want to claim good strategy that's kept them from being overcommitted here then I'll buy.

0 Kudos
ag678
Veteran Contributor

I still have not figured out why people pay or believe someone that is a glorified fortune teller, and why these people claim to be risk managers.  Anyone who puts all their chips on the table based on their predicition or someone elses prediction of future events isn't managing risk they are creating it, and the guy that didn't sell anything today betting on this weather wasn't any better just luckiier.

0 Kudos
johndoeQ
Contributor

joe

someone sent me an email and it said let sleeping bucks lay.... tell the truth or suffer later on........  buck could come for you.......

0 Kudos
kraft-t
Senior Advisor