cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JD4020408
Contributor

Article gives the perception that receiving farm payments is akin to welfare! Hmmm

We are not row crop farmers by trade just a little corn to feed the cattle and some beans to follow them so we have never received any big payments, just some for pasture in a drought or two.
http://www.latimes.com/business/hiltzik/la-fi-mh-sen-joni-ernst-learned-20150123-column.html
0 Kudos
27 Replies
wrightcattle
Veteran Advisor

Re: More truthfully the convoluted usa tax

system is pretty much a tax free disguised ride for usa businesses at the Taxed expense of wage and salary earning folks.

0 Kudos
jrsiajdranch
Veteran Advisor

Re: Article gives the perception that receiving farm payments is akin to welfare! Hmmm

Yep how do you defend? You can't.
0 Kudos
BA Deere
Honored Advisor

Re: Article gives the perception that receiving farm payments is akin to welfare! Hmmm

All that was is a political hit piece against Joni Ernst, she has the leftist communists very worried and this is all the Marxists could find fault with Joni`s rebutal to the SNAFU speech.  Having elitists bad mouth farm programs is akin to Marie Antoinette saying "Let them eat cake!",  LA Michael Hiltzik doesn`t look like he`s ever been on a farm or missed any cheap food meals either.

His Obama begged to have this farm bill passed at the last SNAFU speech, both Republicans and Democrats passed it..no side has the high ground on this.  Truth be told it`s the consumers that benefit from farm bills, it entices us stupid farmers to plant fencerow to fencerow, plow up pasture, plow up golf courses all for a chance to "grab that brass ring" but just went Charlie Brown is set to kick the underinflated football, ol` Lucy pulls it away from us and here we sit with 2 billion bushel MORE corn than we can sell.