cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

DId you see the cattle inventory report?

DId you see the numbers? WEre did all the cattle go?   I would think that this market will surpass Rightones price forcast. 

Also I would think that this will hurt the american consumer more than the price of gas ever will. THis is also very bullish for pork and poultry. It will also pull a lot more dairy cows to the slaughter house.

How many of you have hedged yourselves out of this profit?

Any thoughts guys?

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor

Re: DId you see the cattle inventory report?

Like Jim Hilker at MSU said in 2008-

no, ethanol didn't make US food prices go up. But it will.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor

..I'm not an ethanol proponent...but I don't think ethanol is completely at fault here. It's more of a function of the people in this world (namely the Chinese) who want the same lifestyle as you and I have..and are willing to work every bit as hard or harder to get it. DDG's are still available to feed cattle..and they should be replacing some soybean meal...but the Chinese are buying any amount and more of the soybeans we can grow. I don't know about you..but I'm thinkin' I might be in the market for some fence..and planting a little alfalfa on a few acres of odd shaped areas. Maybe I can keep a cow or two busy mowing these old pastures. Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Reader

Hedged a third of fats, might buy calls on softness that probably comes Monday.  Biggest thing that jumped out at me - dairy herd UP 1%.  Who can a guy believe?.............. We don't run cows on ground that can be cropped, diversification principles still apply.  I LOVE the volatility!!!!!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Veteran Advisor